Back | Events

Rene Daniels and Bas van den Hurk included in Miami group show

From December 3-7, 2014 work by Rene Daniels and Bas van den Hurk is included in the group exhibition 24/7 at The Monte Carlo Hotel in Miami Beach

Wed, Dec 3 - Sun, Dec 7  2014

The Monte Carlo Hotel - Miami Consulate Region

From December 3-7, 2014 curators Alex Bacon and Harrison Tenzer (Rail Curatorial Projects) are pleased to present the group exhibition 24/7 at The Monte Carlo hotel, which includes work by Rene Daniels and Bas van den Hurk.

24/7 explores how aesthetic perception has shifted due to the new social and political realities of an era defined by our networked condition’s around-the-clock cycle of simultaneous production and consumption of images, text, and information. These artists deploy a variety of aesthetic strategies, including linguistic conventions, cartoon figures, images from the mass media, readymades, etc. They are presented alongside a selection of historical artists who, in different ways, anticipated these same developments. Constantly negotiating multiple digital devices, the mind and eye are today driven to a state of hyperactivity, as we are always pushing not only to constantly digest as much information as possible, but also to share experiences and information via social media. We are thus simultaneously producers and consumers of an endless and immense flow of rapidly changing content. This situation has led to a leveling of the field whereby both aesthetic and extra-artistic images, canonical and outsider art, everyday and fine art objects are rendered equally accessible and attractive to artists, which allows them to subvert, challenge, and harness the complexities of the contemporary moment in a variety of innovative ways.

Participating artists:
Sigmar Polke, Will Boone, Martin Kippenberger, Luc Fuller, Philip Guston, Math Bass, Nikholis Planck, Amalia Ulman, Alex Ito, Alistair Frost, Anna-Sophie Berger, Bas van den Hurk, Sayre Gomez, Jean-Baptiste Bernadet, Claes Oldenburg, Rene Daniels, Ted Gahl, Erika Ceruzzi, Philipp Roessle, Jesse Wine, Benoit Plateus, Nick Fusaro, Bryan Dooley, Emanuel Rohss, Jamian Juliano-Villani, Friedemann Heckel, Torey Thornton, Alexander Ruthner, Richard Serra, Wes Noble, Jack McConville, Nikolas Gambaroff.

DutchCulture USA