TAAK organises Summer School Marfa with students from the Sandberg Instituut and The Cooper Union.

20 June 2015 — 4 July 2015

For the third consecutive time, TAAK organises Summer School Marfa. Students from various art academies will dive in the unique artistic climate of Marfa, Texas.

This Summer School edition takes place from June 20 to July 4 2015; with students from the Sandberg Instituut and The Cooper Union. Wondering what the students are experiencing? The students will blog for this website.

Conceptual artist Donald Judd made Marfa a special place in the seventies. He lived there and set up an artists’ residence. He asked other artists to create works of art in and about the stunning desert landscape. His legacy in the field of art in public space is one of the program lines of the Summer School. The other two areas focus on the social political history of Marfa and the influence of the  Mexican border; and the countryside. In short, Marfa will provide much inspiration for the students of the Dutch Art Institute (DAI), Sandberg Instituut, Academie voor Bouwkunst, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and The Cooper Union.

Participants

These students participate in Summer School Marfa 2015, #2 (June-July):

Cooper Union

Josiah Ellis
Stephen Gurtowski
David Johnson
Luis Maldonado
Maria Rodriguez
Misra Walker

Sandberg Instituut

Zazie Stevens
Eloisa Ejarque
Clement Carat
Lucy Andrews
Claudia Pages Rabal
Andrea Carrillo Iglesias

Tutors

 

Team

Theo Tegelaers (course director)
Adam Eeuwens (producer)
Simone Kleinhout (coordinator)

Program Marfa Summer School 2015 – June Edition

20 juni 201504 juli 2015
 

Sat June 20, 21
Arrivals

Mon June 22
afternoon visit to Blackwell School
Judd Foundation Tour
Evening lecture Nathalie Zonnenberg

Wed June 24
Chinati Tour
Reading session Nathalie Zonnenberg

Thu June 25
lecture Krist Gruijthuijsen
workshop/re-enactments Krist Gruijthuijsen

Fri June 26
Lecture Stephan Pascher
Visit to the Border Patrol Station Marfa

Sat. June 27
Field Trip to Permian Basin Oil Patch

Sunday June 28
Balmorhea State; Swim and barbeque. Aquifers, Cienagas and oil/gas encroachment.  Speaker; Tom Drysdale, general manager BSP. Tour town of Balmorhea – spring water aqueduct system, agriculture, Balmorhea Lake

Mon. June 29
students pitch plans for presentation
Individual talks with tutors
Evening reading session Nathalie Zonnenberg

Tue. June 30
Visit Prada Marfa
Dinner workshop with Krist Gruijthuijsen
Optional Star Party at Mac Donald Star Observatory

Wed. July 1
preparations presentations
Optional; excursion to Marfa Lights viewing platform

Thu July 2
preparations presentations

Fri July 3
installation presentations

Sat July 4
Independence Day

Mon July 6
Last day

Tue July 7
Departure