‘Walk With Me’ by Strijbos & Van Rijswijk at Festival ‘Make Music New York’ on Saturday June 21

21 June 2014 — 21 June 2014
199 Water Street, New York, NY, United States New York City

New York Walkscape‘, by Dutch composer duo Strijbos & Van Rijswijk will premiere at ‘Make Music New York‘ on June 21st and opens up an entirely new aural layer within the city. This software-coded musical score is unraveled by the physical exploration of Lower Manhattan (formerly New Amsterdam). Based on the custom-built iPhone app called ‘Walk With Me‘, the Walkscape deploys GPS for musical purposes and blurs the boundaries between installation and composition. Composers from MATA, whose work is excerpted in the composition, will lead guided tours of the piece at 12pm, 2pm, and 4pm, leaving from South Street Seaport.

Walk With Me

Using melodies, rhythmic patterns, chatter, and electronic sounds from American and Dutch composers (curated from the archives of New York’s MATA Festival and Holland’s Gaudeamus Music Week), the piece invites participants to enter into a musical conversation with their city. All you need is a pair of headphones and an iPhone.

Composers’ work featured: Jan Bas Bollen, Marita Bolles, Beavan Flanagan, Florent Ghys, Annie Gosfield, Hugi Gudmunsson, Jeff Herriott, Edward Hamel, Andrzej Kwiecinski, Cecilia Lopez, Ned McGowan, Filippo Perocco, Eric Roth, Benjamin Scheuer, and Andys Skordis.


About Strijbos & Van Rijswijk

Jeroen Strijbos & Rob Van Rijswijk are a musician composer duo based in the Netherlands. The hallmark of Strijbos & Van Rijswijk’s collective body of work is a combination of electroacoustic composition and spatial elements, design, and innovative music technology. The composers seek out zones where different disciplines meet and intersect. Strijbos & Van Rijswijk’s awards and residencies include Residency Tramway, Sonica Festival, UK (2013); Music Prize, Prins Bernhard Culture Foundation Brabant, Netherlands (2012); Space on White, Residency & Performance with NY String Quartet ETHEL, NY (2012); and Honorary mention, Prix Ton Bruynèl, Netherlands (2010). Both members of the group graduated cum laude in Electronic & Computer Composition from Utrecht School of the Arts in Netherlands.

Strijbos & Van Rijswijk

About MATA

MATA is a not-for-profit organization that commissions, presents, and supports the music of a wide array of young composers from around the globe. MATA’s directors are motivated by a desire to create community among composers in the early stages of their careers, especially those whose work does not fit into existing institutions. Founded by Philip Glass, Eleonor Sandresky, and Lisa Bielawa in 1996, MATA presents a week-long festival of music by composers under age forty each spring in New York City. Each festival presents up to thirty works by young composers.